Grain

I watch as the cars pass by under streams of rain. The café noises surrounding me are comforting, inviting. My heart is heavy. I usually take everything with a Grain of salt. Every conversation I’ve had with loved ones, friends, and professors; from the crass remarks toward my questionable actions to long enduring speeches about plans for the future. The endless lectures about careers, education, children, marriage, money. I always listen with the smallest trace of skepticism each talk, each lecture that comes my way. I pull my hands away from my coffee cup, the sheer heat was too much to bear. These thoughts always leave me questioning everything. So I wonder what the future will hold for me.  

(This is just a work of fiction. Something I came up with for the daily prompts.)

 

4 thoughts on “Grain

Leave a Reply

